Personal Insurance Protection Benefits
Michigan is one of the twelve states with a “No-Fault” policy when it comes to automobile accidents. The no-fault policy aims to speed up the claims process by not requiring policyholders to litigate who is at fault for the accident.
The no-fault policy in Michigan also applies to personal insurance protection or PIP. This means that policyholders are automatically covered by PIP after an accident, regardless of who is at fault. PIP coverage will provide benefits for medical expenses, lost wages, and replacement services.
Benefits of Personal Insurance Protection
Aside from making the claims processes quick, a PIP policy will also give policyholders the following benefits.
- Medical expenses will be covered. This includes hospital stays, doctor’s visits, prescription drugs, and surgery. The length of hospital stay will also be covered up to a maximum of one year. However, the quality of hospital accommodation will depend on the chosen policy.
- Lost wages will be covered. If you cannot work because of your injuries, PIP will cover up to 85% of your lost wages. The maximum amount paid out is $500 per week until you reach maximum medical improvement.
- Replacement services will be covered. If you cannot perform specific tasks around the house because of your injuries, PIP will cover the cost of hiring someone to do them for you. The maximum amount paid out is $20 per day, with a maximum of $3,000.
- Funeral expenses will be covered. In a death, PIP will cover funeral expenses up to $5,000.
Filing for a Claim
If you have been involved in an accident and would like to file a claim for PIP benefits, you will need to do the following.
- Contact your insurance company as soon as possible. There is a time limit of one year from the date of the accident to file a claim. If you fail to submit a claim before the deadline, your benefits will be denied.
- Your insurance company will then send you a personal injury protection application. This needs to be completed and returned as soon as possible.
- Once the application has been received, your insurance company will begin processing your claim. If they approve your claim, they will send you a check for the benefits you are entitled to.
Denied Claims: What Should You Do?
If your insurance company denies your claim, you have the right to appeal the decision. You will need to submit a written request for an appeal within 30 days of receiving the denial letter. Your insurance company will then review your case and make a final decision.
You can also file a complaint with the Michigan Office of Financial and Insurance Services if you feel that your insurance company is not handling your claim fairly.
When it comes to Michigan’s no-fault policy, personal insurance protection or PIP is one of the critical benefits that policyholders are automatically covered by after an accident. Regardless of who is at fault for the accident, PIP will provide policyholders coverage for medical expenses, lost wages, and replacement services. This means that policyholders don’t have to worry about filing a lawsuit to get the compensation they deserve and can focus on recovering from their injuries.
However, if you feel that you are not getting the benefits that you are entitled to, you can always seek the help of an experienced attorney who can guide you through the process and help you get the compensation you deserve. Fran Murphy Law is a personal injury firm that specializes in no-fault claims and can help you get the best possible outcome for your case. Contact Fran Murphy Law today to schedule a free consultation.